Of Whiskey and Words Redesign

When I first started Of Whiskey and Words, it was really only meant to be a way for my friends and family to keep tabs on me while I worked on a cruise ship across the world. After my cruising days, it evolved more into a hobby and an outlet that I never anticipated.

It was one thing to write for myself, friend, and family but something completely different when I realized that what I was writing actually had an effect on people I’d never met who’d stumbled across my blog and were kind enough to read it.

Like everyone else, I struggle with the thought of wondering if anything I do matters in the grand scheme of things.  Am I making any kind of difference?   Would anyone really notice if I stopped writing?  I’ve entertained the thought of shutting the blog down altogether. I’ve written before about how I don’t believe in fate or destiny.  But without fail anytime that idea has come into my mind someone has reached out to me in some way or another to let me know that they are waiting for my next post.  I’ve had friends confess how reading my writing brought them back from a truly dark place giving them hope and a fresh perspective.

screenshot_20160921-193413.png

To all of those people, thank-you.  You’ve often inspired me far more than I could ever inspire you.  Your faith in me is undeserved but I will do my best to live up to it.

With that in mind, it’s time for a change.

Onwards and upwards as they say.

For those who don’t know, I’ve spent the past year working at Lifted Logic which is a web design company in Kansas City.  Over the past year, I’ve learned more about websites, SEO, blogging, analytics, web development, design, photo, and video than I ever thought possible.  The people I work with are incredible and it’s humbling to be the least intelligent person in the office every day.

With all that I’ve learned over the past year I’ve decided it was time to redesign the look, feel, and layout of the blog.  A few of my friends who specialize in being smart and creative have agreed to help me out but I want your feedback as well.

Over the next few weeks, I’ll be making choices about what type of content to keep and what to get rid of.  I would love to hear from you about what types of things you enjoy, don’t, and what you’d like to see more of. Are there certain topics that inspire you?

What keeps you coming back?

What can I do to improve Of Whiskey and Words?

Please comment at the bottom of this post or email me your suggestions at ofwhiskeyandwords@gmail.com

Stay Gold.

Todd

 

Leave a Reply

