Three lessons for my next life, Revisited

photo-1454942901704-3c44c11b2ad1

One of my favorite things about writing is the reaction I get from people.  I’m not talking about the ‘wow I love what you wrote’ comments or the ‘you’re a really good writer’ ones (though I don’t mind those).  No, the reaction I enjoy most is ‘that blog you wrote really got me thinking.’  A while ago I wrote- Three Lessons for My Next Life– and it provided me with a ton thought provoking feedback.  Obviously, while people may agree with my three lessons a lot of people had ideas of their own.

With that in mind, I decided to make a list of the different lessons readers shared with me that they would take with them to their next life:

-Give yourself permission to be who you truly are

-Relationships over possessions/money

-Appreciate the best in others

-Always be honest

-Listen more than you talk

-There are exceptions to everything

-Have faith more than hope

-Love as much as you allow yourself to (both yourself and others)

-Tell the people you love that you love them

-Don’t care what other people think about you

-Be kind to yourself (self-love)

-Keep your head down and work

-Start earlier on the dreams you thought were impossible (don’t postpone doing what you love just because you don’t feel capable right now)

-Champion experiences

-Develop compassion

-Don’t take it all(mostly yourself) too seriously

-Practice noticing details at an early age. Details about nature, about relationships, about cycles, about science, about yourself.

-Enjoy youth while you’re am young. That limber body and high energy does not last forever

Learn to be a jack of all trades, except the trade of being a jackass.

-Things you don’t remember matter more than the things you do, so appreciate everything as it happens 

If there’s a lesson you’d like to share feel free to comment below.

Stay Gold.

One thought on “Three lessons for my next life, Revisited

  1. This is a great post, Todd, very inspiring. My two favorites were next to each other and about youth (not surprising for a 61 year old!):
    -Practice noticing details at an early age. Details about nature, about relationships, about cycles, about science, about yourself.

    -Enjoy youth while you’re am young. That limber body and high energy does not last forever

Leave a Reply

