On Bucket Lists…

My Bucket List.

My Bucket List.

A few weeks ago I was going through my laptop deleting old pictures and word documents when I came across my Bucket List.  When I was in High School my friends and I used to watch MTV’s The Buried Life which was about 4 guys who travel around the States crossing things off their bucket list.  However, the twist is that for each item they cross off they help a stranger cross something off their own list.  Pretty cool concept.  It got me and my friends thinking that we should each have one of our own as well.  So my bucket list began at the tender age of 16 when I thought I knew everything I wanted out of life.

Mine is listed below.  I’ve added to it over the years.  Some of the things are old and outdated.  Some of them are really random and obscure.  But at the end of the day, it’s my list and a reflection of my goals and the experiences I desire to have.

I only have two rules I’ve kept throughout my Bucket List’s existence.

The first is that I can’t ever delete anything once it’s been added.  I do this for multiple reasons. It’s fun to look back and see what I used value. What my goals were.  What direction I wanted my life to take.  Also it helps remind me of things I once wanted which, who knows, may inspire me to finally go after them even after all this time.

The second is nothing is too big or small or crazy or unoriginal or outlandish to be added on my Bucket List.  I don’t care if no one’s done it or if everyone has.  If it’s something I want to do during my lifetime it makes the list.

I’ve broken the list into categories and added pictures.  Partly to make it more entertaining/easier to follow and partly to prove that I’ve done some of the stuff that I underlined.

Don’t let me have all the fun though.  Feel free to share some things you want to do before you die in the comment section below.

“For the Story” – Adventure/ Experiences:
Live a full year in a foreign country and immerse in their culture (Australia 2015)

First drink in Melbourne

First drink in Melbourne

Live in a major city  (over 2 million people) (Melbourne)
Attend EDC (2013)
Attend Ultra (2013)
Attend Tomorrowland  (2014)

10351889_10153066603739937_2691654497510567749_n
Attend Coachella
-Attend Electric Forest
-Attend Wakarusa
Attend Burning Man (2016)
-Attend a concert at Red Rocks
-Attend a concert at The Gorge
-Run with the Bulls
-Stand on top of a Mountain
See a Volcano erupt (2014)
-Full Moon Party in Thailand
-Buy a plane ticket on the same day it takes off. Go somewhere spontaneous.
Become scuba certified (2014)

1891041_10151854209821261_53650645_n
Scuba the Great Barrier Reef (2014)
-Scuba a ship wreck
-Join the mile high club
-Be arrested for inciting a riot
VIP and Bottle Service at a club (2014 Hvar, Belgrade, Melbourne)
Feed a kangaroo (2014)
-Eat Kangaroo (2014)
-Hold a Koala (2014)

Koala Holding. Boom.

Koala Holding. Boom.

-Ride in a helicopter
-Climb Sydney Harbor Bridge
-White Water Raft
-Zipline
-Save a life
Visit a Castle (2014)
-Ride a camel
-Sleep in a hanging Tree House
Celebrate Mardi Gras in NOLA (2014)
-Name a Star
Gamble in Vegas (2013)
-Hang Glide
-See the fire fly squid glow in Japan
-Ride an Elephant
-Bathe an Elephant
-Drink beer at Oktoberfest in Germany
-Try-out for the Amazing Race with Z
-See the Northern Lights
-Lead a dog sled team
Go skinny dipping (2013)
-Fly in a Hot Air Balloon
-Swim with dolphins
Send a message in the bottle (2010)
-Go on a date with Emma Watson
-Be an extra in a movie or TV show
Stay up and watch the sunrise, hanging out and making memories with friends (2014)- Brett Nelson, Brandon Ritttenhouse, Jessica Waters, and Cherish Cane
-Go sky diving
-Throw a major party (500 guests minimum)
Go on a safari
Ride a Horse (2008)
Walk The Camino de Santiago

Yeehaw.

Yeehaw.

-Hold a lion cub
-Swim with Sharks
Leave a club or bar as the sun is rising (Europe 2014)
See a blockbuster movie release at midnight showing on opening day (2012 HP #7)
-Crash a wedding

Fitness and Sports:
-Go to the Super Bowl
-Go to the World Series
-Go to the NBA Finals
-Infield at the Kentucky Derby
Attend a March Madness game (2012)
-Go to the Soccer World Cup
-Watch Nebraska win the National Championship in person
-Watch Creighton win the Big East in person
Meet Tom Osborne (2010)
-Go to a Yankees vs. Red Sox game
-Go to a Duke vs. UNC game at Cameron Indoor
Participate in the “Rock Chalk Jayhawk” chant at Allen Field House (2016)
-Attend the Espys
-Play pickup basketball after age 50
Coach a youth sport (2012)
            –YMCA basketball and football
-Visit every stadium in the NBA (2/30)
-Race a car on an actual race track
-Get decent at golf and play at a legendary course.
Learn the difference between AFL and NRL (2015)
Understand the basics of Cricket (2015)
-Attend the Olympic games.
-Run a 5k
-Run a half marathon
-Meet John Wooden (RIP Coach Wooden)
-Improve my diet and fitness, get a 6 pack. Keep it for at least a few months.

Education:|
-Graduate High School (2008)
-Get into a prestigious University (2008)
-Graduate College (major and double minor)  (2012)

graduatino
-Graduate College with honors (3.5 or better) (2012)
Get into Law school (2012)
-Graduate Law school
-Get my Masters
-Get my Doctorate
-Never stop learning

Talents and Skills:
-Get ridiculously good at chess.
-Learn a martial art
-Learn to Ski (2009)

16859_1336177687478_3104639_n
-Learn to Surf
-Learn to Sail
-Learn a second language
-Learn to dance: swing, line, tango, salsa, ballroom
-Learn to fly an airplane or helicopter
-Learn how to drive a motorcycle
-Learn to drive a stick shift
Sing solo in front of a large group (minimum 100) (2011)
Learn to play an instrument decently well (2008)
            –Saxophone
-Take a cooking class
-Have a “signature dish” or two
-Have one hobby that I’m known for
-Learn to play the guitar
-Solve a Rubik’s Cube.

Giving Life Meaning:
-Find my passion
-Be well read and cultured
–Quit a job I don’t like. Travel and make memories (2013-2015)
-Have the love and respect of my friends and family
-Learn to overcome my fears and self-doubts
-Be someone’s Best Man
-Give a memorable Toast
-Find the love of my life
-Know that I’ve inspired someone for the better
-Be a mentor to someone.
-Be someone’s shoulder to cry on
-Visit a new country every year until I die
-Write hand-written love letters to the love of my life
-Donate anonymously to a great cause
-Start collecting something that fascinates me
-Have friends all over the world (2013-)

US,Canada,China,Belgium, and Holland represent

US,Canada,China,Belgium, and Holland represent

-Attend the TED conference
-Volunteer at a TED or TEDx event (2016)
-Start a charity
-Help a large group of people in need
-Have a wall to wall bookshelf in my study filled with books I’ve read
-Have a wall to wall bookshelf in my study filled with books I want to read
-Buy a nice watch, pass it down to my son when he turns 18
–Write hand-written notes to those who’ve impacted my life  (done but always more to write)
-Enjoy a white Christmas with someone who has never had one
Introduce someone to Thanksgiving for the first time (Cruise ship 2013)

Thanksgiving 2013

Thanksgiving 2013

Travel and See the World:

North America:

United States:
-Boston, MA
-Seattle, WA
-Sacramento, CA
-Hawaii
-Miami, FL (2013)

South Beach.

South Beach.

-Vegas (2013)
-Portland, OR
-Santa Barbara, CA (2013)
-Alaska
-Nashville, TN
-New York City, NY (2002 & 2016)

Canada:
-Vancouver
-Toronto
-Montreal
-Edmonton

Mexico:
-Cancun
-Mexico City
-Cabo

South/ Central America:
-Rio De Janeiro (Brazil)
-Puerto Rico
-St. Martin
-Chile
-Ecuador
-Dominic Republic
-Bunes Aires (Argentina)
-Peru

Europe
-Paris (2014)
-Greece
-Croatia (2014)

Split, Croatia

Split, Croatia

-Barcelona (2014)
-Amsterdam (2014)
-Prague (2014)
-Vienna (2014)
-Rome (the Vatican)
-Florence (2014)
-Poland
-Budapest (2014)
-Ireland (2014)
-Moscow
-Serbia (2014)
-St. Petersburg
-Lisbon
-London (2014)
-Berlin (2014)

Africa
-Cape Town
-Cairo
-Israel
-Lebanon
-Jordan
-Chad
-Jerusalem

Asia
-The Maldives
-Thailand
-Chang Mai
-Phuket
-Koh Tao
-Vietnam
-India
-Laos
-Istanbul
-Cambodia
-Singapore

South Pacific
-Sydney (2014)

sydney

-Melbourne (2015)
-Brisbane (2013)
-Gold Coast (2015)
-Perth
-Kangaroo Island
-Bali
-New Zealand
-Port Vila (2013)
-Fiji (2014)
-Papa New Guinea (2014)

IMG_0622

-See the “7” wonders of the world
-Great Wall of China: China
-Petra: Ma’an Governorate, Jordan
-Pyramid at Giza: Giza, Egypt
-The Colosseum : Rome, Italy
-Chichen Itza : Yucatán, Mexico
-Manchu Pichu:  Cuzco, Peru
-Christ the Redeemer: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Great Barrier Reef: Australia (2014)
-Taj Mahal : Agra, Uttar Pradesh, India
-See the Leaning Tower of Pisa (2014)

11283_10153112142679937_6203689807957405792_n

-See the Eiffel Tower (2014)
-See Big Ben, London Eye, Tower of London (2014)
-Backpack Europe (2014)
-Work on a Cruise ship (2013)

My Cruiseship Crew.

My Cruiseship Crew.

-Teach English Abroad (2014)

Visit every continent (Antarctica if the opportunity arises).
-North America (1990)
-South America
-Europe (2014)
-Asia
-Australia (2013)
-Africa
-Drive the Pacific Coast Highway from SD to San Francisco up the CA coast line
Drive the Great Ocean road in Australia Melbourne to Adelaide (2015)
-Travel alone for an extended period of time 2013-2015
-Move to the West Coast of America

Career/ Professional:
-Have my own Law Firm
-Run for political office
-Become a diplomat
-Help grow a company to a buy out offer
-Save for retirement
-Write a novel
-Give a TED speech
-Work in Public Relations
-Have my own assistant
-Make 6 figures
-Make $1 billion

Random:
-Have a lake or beach house
-Get a straight razor shave
-Own my dream car, pay cash
-Read all 100 books on NPR’s best books of all time list
-Leave an obnoxiously nice tip when a server or bartender really impresses you (at least 50%)
Receive an obnoxiously nice tip as a bartender or server (more than 50%) (2014)
-Get a suit custom made
-Camp fire and stay the night on the beach
Start a blog (2012)
-Get over 1 million views on Of Whiskey and Words
-Have over 1 million followers on Of Whiskey and Words
-Own a tuxedo that fits perfectly and make sure never to grow out of it.
-Vacation in a place without internet for at least a week
-Plant a tree and watch it grow over time

What do you want to do?

15 thoughts on “On Bucket Lists…

  1. Pingback: On Life Before Burning Man… | Of Whiskey and Words

  2. Pingback: Questions that truly reveal someone’s personality and capabilities | Of Whiskey and Words

  3. You might learn a lot about each other and start a special newtwork though. It’s fun traveling alone too of course, as you know.

Leave a Reply

